Home > SharePoint 2007 > Volume Shadow Copy error after deleting an Unused SharePoint Service Account

Volume Shadow Copy error after deleting an Unused SharePoint Service Account

Recently, I deleted an Unused SharePoint Service Account in AD after figuring out we were not using that service account for any Service in SharePoint. This service account was also local admin on the server.  As I did this I could not start the Volume Shadow copy service and whenever I try to start it I would get initiation error message and the application log would have the following error

Event Type:    Error
Event Source:    VSS
Event Category:    None
Event ID:    12289
Date:        6/23/2009
Time:        8:59:06 AM
User:        N/A
Computer:    ServerName
Description:
Volume Shadow Copy Service error: Unexpected error LookupAccountName( NULL, [ServiceAccountName], NULL, p, NULL, p, p).  hr = 0x800706fc.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:

Blah blah Blah…..

I tried rebooting the server, same error reappeared.

I was not able open the tab Shadow Copies  from properties of any disk drive or through diskmgmt.msc

I tried to see if any of the App Pools were using the same account I deleted and if that was causing the problem [If this is the case, simply change the old service account and it should fix the problem], that was not the case!

After research, I found that VSS actually stores the local admin account in the registry key under

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\VSS\VssAccessControl

I deleted the entry for the old service account I deleted in AD and VSS started working fine.

Note: This issue might also occur when you move a server to new domain and VSS would have the old domain account. Just update the registry key and it should fix the problem!

Categories: SharePoint 2007
  1. Areeb
    January 3, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Nice Post, worked for me.

    Thanks.

  2. Chas
    January 26, 2011 at 8:45 am

    Had the exact same problem and was resolved with your fix.
    Thanks very much for sharing this information.

  3. Joe Ironsmith
    July 27, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Great! Worked for me too! Thanks heaps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

