Home > SharePoint 2010 > SharePoint 2010 database upgrade with Multiple Content Databases

SharePoint 2010 database upgrade with Multiple Content Databases

Consider the following scenario

One of my client (SharePoint 2007 Farm) had multiple site collections in a single web application and each site collection had its own database. In other words the web application had multiple content databases.

I wanted to upgrade the SharePoint 2007 farm to SharePoint 2010.

So I installed a SharePoint 2010 test farm and sat down to do the upgrade using database attach upgrade method

1. I restored the content database containing the top-level site collection (http://sitename/).

2. I tested the content database using Test-SPContentDatabase – No Issues

3. I mounted the content database using Mount-SPContentDatabase – No Issues

4. I was able to browse the top-level site collection – No Issues

5. Now, I restored the content database with the second site collection (http://sitename/teams/HR)

6. Tested and Mounted it – No issues

7. When I tried to browse the site, I could not. I was getting a 401 page.

8. After some troubleshooting I noticed the SharePoint has added the managed path as “Teams/HR” instead of just “Teams”. I deleted the managed path (“Teams/HR”)  and added “Teams” as wild card managed path.

This fixed the issue. Turns out that when you have custom managed paths and you are doing a database attach upgrade, you need to add the custom managed path through central admin. If you don’t, you will receive 401 pages just like me.

So, if you are upgrading using database upgrade method and your web application has multiple content databases, follow the steps below:

1. Run pre-upgrade check,

2. Test your content databases using Test-SPContentdatabase powershell commandlet, make sure there are no upgrade blocking issues.

3. Create a new web application on your 2010 farm.

4. Create custom managed paths if you have any in your SharePoint 2010 central admin

5. Mount the content database containing the top-level site collection followed by other site collections.

Make sure to test the upgrade on a test farm before you start playing with a live environment! Happy Upgrading!

Thanks to @ToddKlindt for steering me in the right direction!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

